Author Topic: roundcube does a login request on each click  (Read 2943 times)

Offline chazy

roundcube does a login request on each click
« on: September 15, 2017, 08:18:44 AM »
Hello there, it's my first time trying roundcube manually. I've use it in the past in bundles like cpanel and the like.

I have my own email server (postfix + dovecot) and I've decided to install roundcube.

I'm wondering why is roundcube doing a login request on each click? For example I click one email message and I can see the journal printing a login request, as slow as:
Logged out in=292 out=3539

So each time I click on a different message, it takes up to 3.8 seconds. Is this a problem with my server setup? Or is there a configuration in roundcube for this?
I mean why's roundcube requesting them to dovecot each time I click one and not caching them anywhere?
I can also see the request when I click config options. And overall so many requests... I can see one request every 30 seconds while idle.
Maybe it's that I don't fully understand how communication between (web?) mail clients and imap server works but this is not happening with desktop/mobile clients.

With thunderbird, for example, I don't see any request when I open a message, I see them sometimes when I click the inbox, not always though, and not as much as with roundcube.

Can someone please, help me understand why is this happening? It's a poor user experience to have to wait everytime I open a message or click a config in the menu. So is there any way to make roundcube navigation smooth?

Offline alec

Re: roundcube does a login request on each click
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2017, 02:11:42 PM »
This is how PHP apps work. 4 seconds sounds too much but it depends on IMAP and Roundcube settings.

Offline chazy

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2017, 06:38:52 PM »
I'm just worried it was something I did bad.