Author Topic: is it possible to use ONE database for roundcube AND Mediawiki?  (Read 5121 times)

Offline Jack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2


Hi there,

I'd like to install roundcube and my problem is: my ISP doesnt allow more than one SQL database and I'm already using it for a mediawikiproject. Is there a possibility to install it into the same database? And if yes is it possible to have a prefix?
Thanks a lot in advance.

Jack

Offline guilichou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: is it possible to use ONE database for roundcube AND Mediawiki?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2008, 02:56:43 PM »
Yes you can...

If you looked in the file config/db.inc.php, you have this section:

Code: [Select]
// you can define specific table names used to store webmail data
$rcmail_config['db_table_users'] = 'users';
$rcmail_config['db_table_identities'] = 'identities';
$rcmail_config['db_table_contacts'] = 'contacts';
$rcmail_config['db_table_session'] = 'session';
$rcmail_config['db_table_cache'] = 'cache';
$rcmail_config['db_table_messages'] = 'messages';

Simply rename the tables in order to fit what you wish....:

Example:
Code: [Select]
// you can define specific table names used to store webmail data
$rcmail_config['db_table_users'] = 'roundcube_users';
$rcmail_config['db_table_identities'] = 'roundcube_identities';
$rcmail_config['db_table_contacts'] = 'roundcube_contacts';
$rcmail_config['db_table_session'] = 'roundcube_session';
$rcmail_config['db_table_cache'] = 'roundcube_cache';
$rcmail_config['db_table_messages'] = 'roundcube_messages';

Then put you database here:
$rcmail_config['db_dsnw'] = 'mysql://user_passwd:db_passwd@localhost/MyDatabase';

Offline Jack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: is it possible to use ONE database for roundcube AND Mediawiki?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2008, 06:27:31 PM »

Thanks a lot, thats really a great help. But I still got problems:
What I did until now:I downloaded Roundcube, then uploaded it to my webspace. I configuered config/db.inc.php so that I have prefixes and I configured the line rcmail_config so that it lookes like this:
Quote
$rcmail_config['db_dsnw'] = 'mysql://passwort1:passwort2@rdbms.strato.de/Databasename';
Passwort1 is the password I use for logging into my useraccount at my ISP and passwort2 is the password for my database. rdbms.strato.de is the server and Databasename the name of the database. Is this correct?

The I went to url-to-roundcube/installer and I got the following response:
Quote
Checking PHP extensions

The following modules/extensions are required to run RoundCube:
PCRE: OK
Session: OK
Sockets: NOT OK(See http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.sockets.php)

These extensions are optional but recommended to get the best performance:
FileInfo: NOT AVAILABLE(See http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.fileinfo.php)
Libiconv: OK
Multibyte: NOT AVAILABLE(See http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.mbstring.php)
OpenSSL: NOT AVAILABLE(See http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.openssl.php)
Mcrypt: OK
GD: OK
Checking available databases

Check which of the supported extensions are installed. At least one of them is required.
MySQL: OK
MySQLi: OK
PostgreSQL: NOT AVAILABLE(Not installed)
SQLite (v2): NOT AVAILABLE(Not installed)
Check for required 3rd party libs

This also checks if the include path is set correctly.
PEAR: OK
DB: OK
MDB2: OK
Net_SMTP: OK
Mail_mime: OK
iilConnection: OK
Checking php.ini/.htaccess settings
file_uploads: OK
session.auto_start: OK
magic_quotes_gpc: OK
magic_quotes_sybase: OK

Is there a way to fix this? Did I forget something?

tanks in advance.

Jack

Offline guilichou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: is it possible to use ONE database for roundcube AND Mediawiki?
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2008, 02:42:49 AM »
Quote from: Jack
Quote
$rcmail_config['db_dsnw'] = 'mysql://passwort1:passwort2@rdbms.strato.de/Databasename';
Passwort1 is the password I use for logging into my useraccount at my ISP and passwort2 is the password for my database. rdbms.strato.de is the server and Databasename the name of the database. Is this correct?

No that is incorrect, you should have:
mysql://UserDatabase:PasswdDatabase@SERVER/Databasename';

Instead of "rdbms.strato.de", you should have either "localhost" or "rdbms.strato.de:PORT", where PORT is the port of the database (ex 3306).

For the rest:

Checking PHP extensions

The following modules/extensions are required to run RoundCube:
PCRE: OK
Session: OK
Sockets: NOT OK -> I don't know how to solve this...

These extensions are optional but recommended to get the best performance:
FileInfo: NOT -> Only optional, so you can make RC work without it
Libiconv: OK
Multibyte: NOT AVAILABLE -> Only optional, so you can make RC work without it
OpenSSL: NOT AVAILABLE -> Only optional, so you can make RC work without it
Mcrypt: OK
GD: OK
Checking available databases

Check which of the supported extensions are installed. At least one of them is required.
MySQL: OK
MySQLi: OK
PostgreSQL:  NOT OK-> You only neead at least one of them
SQLite (v2):  NOT OK-> You only neead at least one of them
Check for required 3rd party libs

VoilÃ