Author Topic: spellcheck not working  (Read 5702 times)

Offline matty262

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
spellcheck not working
« on: June 14, 2011, 12:33:01 AM »
can anyone help me with spellcheck.

I'm using English as the language and whenever I hit the spellcheck button, it tells me 'empty result from spelling engine'.

in plain text, it underlines incorrect spelling so that's OK but I want to use HTML messages and it doesn't work.

many thanks

Offline rosali

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,533
spellcheck not working
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 12:58:04 AM »
Spell checking in text mode uses fsockopen. TinyMCE spellchecker plugin uses cURL instead. So I guess cURL is missing in your PHP installation.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2011, 05:40:27 PM by rosali »
Regards,
Rosali
__________________
MyRoundcube Project (commercial)

Offline matty262

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
spellcheck not working
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2011, 05:32:54 AM »
Thanks for the reply. How do I fix it?

Offline rosali

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,533
spellcheck not working
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2011, 07:18:38 AM »
Well, fix your PHP. This is not a roundcube issue.
Regards,
Rosali
__________________
MyRoundcube Project (commercial)

Offline matty262

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
spellcheck not working
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2011, 12:23:08 PM »
thanks. really appreciate you insight

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
spellcheck not working
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2011, 05:45:33 AM »
You need to enable the cURL module in PHP which if you're on a Debian based system means you can just run

Code: [Select]
apt-get install php5-curl and that will take care of everything.

On a windows system, you'll have to uncomment the line line in php.ini that starts with
Code: [Select]
;extension= and mentions curl.dll.

On any other linux distro, you'll have to google for answers (I only know debian because we use Ubuntu servers at work).

Once that extension is enabled, just restart apache (or whatever webserver you're using) and try again.  The module should then be loaded properly.

To check if the module is loaded, you can create a script called "phpinfo.php" and put this as the contents:
<?php phpinfo(); ?>

Then go use your browser to view that page.  Then scroll through the page and look for cURL in big bold letters.  If it's there, it's enabled.  If it's not, then it didn't install/enable properly.

If you're on a shared host, you'll have to ask your host if they can install/enable it for you.