Author Topic: Visually impaired user changes  (Read 2712 times)

Offline calast

Visually impaired user changes
« on: August 18, 2012, 08:06:53 PM »
By way of introduction, I am a very experienced developer of database-driven web applications trying to solve a problem for my 90-year-old mother. She is completely comfortable with email, but is visually impaired. So I am trying to put together a way for her to use her email with a web-based app (since that's how I think) that meets her needs.

The primary issue is that she can't see anything in less than about 36 point fonts. So this calls for a simplified GUI. I don't feel like reinventing the wheel, so I'm looking for the "bones" of an email client: all the functionality in place but I get to design a different user interface. This is really easy if the app was originally designed using the Model-View-Controller design pattern, because the screens (Views) are written completely separately from the program logic (Controllers). Alas, Roundcube does not seem to be that, but it has very good functionality. So I am going to try to work with it. If anyone has tried to do anything this complex before, I would appreciate suggestions. It is, of course, much harder than just setting the font size to 36 (try it). The layout rather extensively assumes you are not going to do that. This may be achievable with CSS, but ideally I would be able to design different (simpler) screens.

The more specific first question I have concerns the login screen. One thing that visually impaired people can not do well is fill in forms. Since she is just one person on one computer accessing one mail server, has anyone tried to disable the login screen? I'd like the program to start as if she has just logged in. I don't see anything like a default user in the config files, but it sure would be nice if that could somehow be hard-coded there for her installation.

Thanks,
Ken

Offline SKaero

• Administrator