Author Topic: Version update - my poor understanding  (Read 3905 times)

Offline peladon

• I tech and I'm an author. Or the other way round..
    • Writing the Bright Fantastic
Version update - my poor understanding
« on: April 03, 2013, 10:27:31 AM »
First, my apologies if this is in the wrong place. I could have put it in Issues, but I didn't think that really fitted either.
Yes - I'm an Idiot  :-[.
I'm looking at upgrading two Roundcube installs I have (one at 0.4.2 and one at 0.7.1). I've never done an upgrade before, so I looked at the WIKI and the UPGRADING file from the latest release.
That's, um, when I got confused.

From the UPGRADING file:
1. Replace index.php and all files in
   - ./bin/
   - ./SQL/
   - ./program/
   - ./installer/
   - ./skins/default/
   - ./plugins/

From the WIKI:
http://trac.roundcube.net/wiki/Howto_Upgrade
Check Your Configuration

Download your config/main.inc.php and config/db.inc.php files and place them in your config folder so you will not have to copy them over later.

Be sure to check config/main.inc.php.dist and config/db.inc.php.dist to make sure you have any new settings that may have appeared in the new version! Some people may prefer to copy the new .dist files and recreate their needed changes.
Upload a new copy

Use your favorite FTP/SFTP/SCP program to rename or remove the old folder and upload the new one.

Here's my confusion:

1: The WIKI seems to say 'trash your old install folder, and install the new unzipped folder set'. So no exceptions, delete top level of old install, copy in new top level folder.
That seems to contradict the rather more selective instructions in the UPGRADING file in the new package.

2: If the path isn;t actually to trash the whole of the old install folder, 'replace' can be read two ways. The text is:
"Replace index.php and all files in..."
Does the 'replace' refer to the whole folder, or to files in it? So, for example:

./bin - old install
File1
File2
File3
File4

./bin - new package