Author Topic: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0  (Read 18159 times)

Offline pauLee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« on: April 16, 2013, 09:53:29 AM »
Hello,

I tried to install new version 0.9.0 on existing installtion 0.8.6. The webinstaller reports to me the following message when I try to update the database from the webinstaller:


Database schema update failed.
DB Schema:  NOT OK(Database schema differs)
Missing table 'system'

Shell I add that table manually to the db or what´s wrong there?


Cheers, Tom

Offline chatwizrd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2013, 11:50:19 AM »
You obviously didnt follow the upgrade directions.

You need to inject whats in SQL/mysql/2013011000.sql

Offline jameswill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2013, 12:47:58 AM »
Hi,


I think Upgrade script of roundcube should make this changes.
Is it possible for Roundcube team to make these changes in upgrade script so all users need not to import sql manually.

Please let us know if it is possible. It will make upgrade easier n friendly

Offline ABerglund

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2013, 01:09:59 AM »
The web installer will do these changes for you.
Arne Berglund
SysAdmin, Internet Services
Lane Education Service District
Eugene, OR, USA

Offline jameswill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2013, 02:46:40 AM »
Hi,

That is what i tried but it doesn't work.

Database schema update failed.

DB Schema:  NOT OK(Database schema differs)

    Missing table 'system'

Installer is not creating system table.

Can you check and make this changes in installer ?

Offline jameswill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2013, 07:39:49 AM »
Hi,

Is there any update on this ?

Offline jameswill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2013, 11:50:08 PM »
Hi,

Does anyone reply in this forum ?

Offline JohnDoh

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,539
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2013, 02:17:40 AM »
Quote
Does anyone reply in this forum ?

Impatient much?

When you ran the web installer you should of seen that message on the final, “test” step. It should look like the image attached to this post.

Do you see that button right underneath that says update? You need to select your existing version of RC and press the button. The installer will then try and run a shell script from the bin/ folder called “updatedb.sh” to try and update your database. (Note, the webserver user must have rights to execute that script).

If for any reason that fails you can run the SQL in SQL/mysql/2012080700.sql and SQL/mysql/2013011000.sql manually against your database to update it from 0.8 to 0.9
Roundcube Plugins: Contextmenu, SpamAssassin Prefs, and more…

Offline jameswill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2013, 08:10:41 AM »
Hi,

It still throws same error when i try to upgrade from 0.8.6 to 0.9.0 even if updatedb.sh has right permission.

Can you please make changes in upgrader so that it should be able to create system table ?

Offline pauLee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2013, 04:25:09 PM »
The web installer will do these changes for you.
Yes, I also expected this. But no chance :(

I´am not very sure how to update the database manually, so I thought it would be a great way with the web installer.

Offline JohnDoh

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,539
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2013, 03:05:07 AM »
Quote
It still throws same error when i try to upgrade from 0.8.6 to 0.9.0 even if updatedb.sh has right permission.
So far in this thread i dont see where you have said any error messages you get. If you are not sure what i mean they try looking in the rc error logs and/or your httpd error logs.

Quote
Can you please make changes in upgrader so that it should be able to create system table ?
The devs will not change anything based on someone saying "it doesnt work". They will do the same as me, try it themselves. See that it works just fine and since you have given no more information there is nothing any one can do.

Also reading back through the thread i see it was sort of assumed you are using mysql as your database, is that right?
Roundcube Plugins: Contextmenu, SpamAssassin Prefs, and more…

Offline pauLee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2013, 03:29:20 AM »
So far in this thread i dont see where you have said any error messages you get. If you are not sure what i mean they try looking in the rc error logs and/or your httpd error logs.

Also reading back through the thread i see it was sort of assumed you are using mysql as your database, is that right?
I´am a little bit confused ...

You posted the correct screenshot with the error message:

Database schema update failed.
DB Schema:  NOT OK(Database schema differs)
Missing table 'system'

It´s the same message I get, if I try to update the database with the web installer. In the web installer I have choosen version 0.8.6 to update and pressed the update button ... and the result is:

"Database schema update failed."

What else do you need that you believe that the web installer does not do a correct job?


And yes, I´am using mysql.

Offline alec

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,220
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2013, 05:19:09 AM »
And there are no errors in logs? From Roundcube root directory execute `bin/updatedb.sh --package roundcube --version=0.8.6 --dir=./SQL`

Offline pauLee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2013, 05:25:11 AM »
And there are no errors in logs? From Roundcube root directory execute `bin/updatedb.sh --package roundcube --version=0.8.6 --dir=./SQL`

I don´t have access to the console, so I can´t start any shell script. Which log you mean?

Offline chatwizrd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
Re: Missing table 'system' --> Upgrade to 0.9.0
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2013, 09:02:45 AM »
You should inject what is in SQL/mysql/2013011000.sql then manually with phpmyadmin or something.