Author Topic: Message bodies stored in MySQL and attachments stored on my servers  (Read 5836 times)

Offline ktwalrus

I'm very new to RC (just discovered today) and I am trying to decide if RC is appropriate for my needs.

All messages that will be sent to the users' mailboxes will be sent only by RC (my smtp servers will enforce this) and the recipients will be restricted by allowing only vetted email addresses from the contacts list (I need to control the list of addresses in each user's contacts list).  Also, the messages will have an average of 100 to 200 recipients.

The users mailboxes will be on various different servers, but I control all servers.

Since the messages go to a large number of users, I want to store the HTML message bodies that are sent in my own MySQL databases that are separate from the mail servers.  I also want to store the attachments on my servers as many messages will attach large files (mostly videos).

So, I'm thinking I will need to "intercept" the mail as it is sent from RC, store the attachments and HTML message bodies as I wish and "forward" the message on to the appropriate mail server with the message body only containing information that will allow me to reconstruct the message body (HTML and the attachments).  I want to "embed" the videos into RC message view page and not have RC show the attachments as attachments (but as HTML, like embedding a YouTube video in HTML5).

So, my questions are:

• Can RC upload attachments to a separate server and not include the attachment in MIME format in the messages that it sends, but send a link to the attachment?  Or, do I need to code this feature myself?
  • Can I filter the messages as they are sent from RC so that I can store the message body in MySQL and change the message body to a link that will retrieve the message body from MySQL?