Author Topic: Change Password Option Missing  (Read 7934 times)

Offline arvindh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Change Password Option Missing
« on: June 05, 2013, 01:28:00 PM »
We are using Roundcube with Iredadmin. We are unable to find a Change Password option for our users. When we checked that plugin is existing in rouncube folder. How to fix it?

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,541
    • http://SKaero.com/
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2013, 01:38:03 PM »
The password plugin has to be setup to work with your system, read the README file in the password plugin directory.

Offline arvindh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2013, 02:26:40 PM »
Its enabled there....

// ----------------------------------
// PLUGINS
// ----------------------------------

// List of active plugins (in plugins/ directory)

$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array('password');

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,541
    • http://SKaero.com/
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2013, 02:34:07 PM »
Read the README file in the password plugin directory.

Offline arvindh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2013, 02:38:49 PM »
I am not getting you. We are using Iredmail and need to add a ability for our users to change password. How to do it?

Offline ABerglund

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2013, 05:48:35 PM »
The password plugin supports several methods to change passwords on different mail servers. You will need to determine which method (if any) are suitable for your system, and then it will need to be configured. I am not familiar with Iredmail, and can not advise you how to proceed. You will need to read the documentation within the plugin to determine your next steps.
Arne Berglund
SysAdmin, Internet Services
Lane Education Service District
Eugene, OR, USA

Offline arvindh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2013, 12:56:23 PM »
Please find the attached screenshot. There is no option to change password at all.

My Config Files plugin option as follows:

// ----------------------------------
// PLUGINS
// ----------------------------------

// List of active plugins (in plugins/ directory)

$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array('password');
$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array("pop3fetcher",);

We are using IRedMail which stores everything in SQL. What do I need to do to show Change Password option in Setting page and let the users to change passwor?


Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,541
    • http://SKaero.com/
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2013, 12:58:48 PM »
Your using an array wrong, its should be:
$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array('password', 'pop3fetcher');

Offline IBTB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2013, 05:11:01 AM »
Ask SKaero said, the way you write it is wrong.

When you write it as you do, the computer interprets it as:

$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array('password');     //Okey, the $rcmail_config['plugins'] = 'password', this is cool, I'll remember that!

Then the next line comes:

$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array("pop3fetcher",);   //And again, the computer thinks: Okey, the $rcmail_config['plugins'] = 'pop3fetcher', this is cool, I'll remember that!

It reads from top to bottom, so if you set a variable twice, it will only remember the last one it read! :)


When writing it as SKaero said, the computer will think:

$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array('password', 'pop3fetcher');   //Okey, rcmail_config['plugins'] = BOTH password AND pop3fetcher, I'll remember both of theese!


This will atleast load your plugin, getting you one step closer, and hopefully it will load smoothly and everything start working! :)

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,541
    • http://SKaero.com/
Re: Change Password Option Missing
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2013, 12:43:16 PM »
Ask SKaero said, the way you write it is wrong.

When you write it as you do, the computer interprets it as:

$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array('password');     //Okey, the $rcmail_config['plugins'] = 'password', this is cool, I'll remember that!

Then the next line comes:

$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array("pop3fetcher",);   //And again, the computer thinks: Okey, the $rcmail_config['plugins'] = 'pop3fetcher', this is cool, I'll remember that!

It reads from top to bottom, so if you set a variable twice, it will only remember the last one it read! :)


When writing it as SKaero said, the computer will think:

$rcmail_config['plugins'] = array('password', 'pop3fetcher');   //Okey, rcmail_config['plugins'] = BOTH password AND pop3fetcher, I'll remember both of theese!


This will atleast load your plugin, getting you one step closer, and hopefully it will load smoothly and everything start working! :)
Well said!