Author Topic: Setup RoundCube In PLESK  (Read 30623 times)

Offline stanleyjobson2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« on: May 24, 2007, 07:46:23 PM »
Hi,

I Wanted to install RoundCube Webmail in my server.

I have PLESK 8.1.1 and FEDORA CORE 2.

How to do it ?

Take Care.

Ps : Sorry for my english, i'm very bad, i speak only french :-[

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2007, 09:51:08 PM »
Roundcube doesn't need any special software. Just mySQL and PHP. Download the zip or tar-ball and read the INSTALL file inside.
 
  

Offline bryant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2007, 02:14:50 PM »
For Plesk, it asks for a Host name or IP address. I put the IP address and clicked ok and it gives me an error that it could not connect. I tried an IP, an IP with the directory of where RoundCube is. I also tried Local and Local host. I'm new to this and I was wondering if there was any help I could get with the Plesk.
The instructions suggest putting this:

# mysql
> CREATE DATABASE roundcubemail DEFAULT CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_general_ci;
> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON roundcubemail.* TO roundcube@localhost
  IDENTIFIED BY 'password';
> quit

# mysql roundcubemail < SQL/mysql5.initial.sql

But I don't know where to enter that. I would assume once that is entered, everything would be automatic.

Any help would be the most greatest :)

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2007, 02:23:06 PM »
Quote
# mysql
> CREATE DATABASE roundcubemail DEFAULT CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_general_ci;
> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON roundcubemail.* TO roundcube@localhost
  IDENTIFIED BY 'password';
> quit

# mysql roundcubemail < SQL/mysql5.initial.sql
That is shell script, and would be typed into an SSH terminal. You can do the same thing through Plesk's GUI and phpMyAdmin.

Quote
For Plesk, it asks for a Host name or IP address. I put the IP address and clicked ok and it gives me an error that it could not connect. I tried an IP, an IP with the directory of where RoundCube is. I also tried Local and Local host. I'm new to this and I was wondering if there was any help I could get with the Plesk.
What are you trying to do? Set Round Cube up to be usable, or make it the default webmail for all Plesk users?
 
  

Offline bryant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2007, 04:27:14 PM »
Just trying to set Round Cube up to be usable.

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2007, 04:36:18 PM »
Okay, so here are some simple steps:

  • Download RoundCube source (or check out the latest SVN version from the repository)
  • Decompress the file to get to the real source of the software
  • Upload all files to where you want it to be
  • Go into Plesk and create a new database and user (don't forget to attach the user to the database)
  • Go into phpMyAdmin and execute the proper SQL file
    • Open phpMyAdmin
    • Select the database in the left pane
    • Click the "IMPORT" tab on top of the right pane
    • You want to "upload" a new SQL file for execution. Just browse to the one you want (mysql.initial.sql or mysql-5.initial.sql depending upon your mySQL version)
    • Click "go" and wait for success or failure message
       
  • Modify config/main.inc.php and config/db.inc.php
    • main.inc.php
      • Make sure you specify the default IMAP settings
      • Make sure you specify the default SMTP settings
      • The rest is essentially optional to configure for now
            
    • db.inc.php
      • Make sure you get the connection string right
      • Everything else is optional
         
  • Re-upload main.inc.php and db.inc.php to the server
  • Browse to your RoundCube installation
  • Attempt to Log-In using your email address and password

Sorry it's brief, but I gotta run. Let us know how it goes!!
 
  

Offline bryant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2007, 05:35:41 PM »
Alrighty,

I got it working! Thanks.

I'm sure I'll have some more questions as I test it out.

Thanks again for your help.

Offline bryant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2007, 10:20:22 AM »
Everything is working perfect and all.

How would I make Roundcube as the default webmail for all Plesk users?
It seems that when I go to mail.domain.com, it takes me to our website and webmail.domain.com takes us to horde.

Any help would be great.

Thanks :)

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2007, 02:56:41 PM »
You would need to set up redirection "A" entries in the DNS for each domain that points to one installation. That's the easiest I can think of. For example, webmail.bpatterson.net points to webmail.patternet.com and so does webmail.return2z3r0.info. They all point to the same place, and instead of using squirrelmail or horde, they get roundcube ;)

Now, how to install it along-side of Horde, SquirrelMail and make it a choice, or the default, that's a good question. I've seen people do it with cPanel, never anyone do it with Plesk.
 
  

Offline bryant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2007, 03:31:06 PM »
Oh my I didn't quite understand the redirection of the 'A' DNS as far as what to put. Everything looks in order.
I guess I'm trying to figure out how to have Plesk pick up Roundcube instead of Horde.


 
:-\

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2007, 03:38:27 PM »
Well, currently with the A DNS setup, it just works around that. I'm not a Plesk user (I prefer cPanel) so I can't speak as to how to really replace SquirrelMail with RoundCube.
 
  

Offline bryant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2007, 03:45:28 PM »
What do you suggest I do Mr Patterson :)

I suppose I can contact my Hosting company and see what options they have for me.

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2007, 03:49:33 PM »
Hosting company probably won't help. Not sure, but you could google for "RoundCube +Plesk" and see if anyone has done it that also wrote a tutorial... or you could attempt to "hack" the source of Plesk (if allowed) and replace Horde with RoundCube....
 
  

Offline bryant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2007, 04:04:21 PM »
I tried looking for "Roundcube + Plesk" in Google and no luck. I guess I have to dig deep for this one.
I'll keep you and the Forum posted. I'll have this Plesk thread wrapped up and ready to rock for future Pleskers'

Thanks for everything!

Offline FlexZa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Setup RoundCube In PLESK
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2007, 09:14:07 PM »
I DID IT! :D
http://webmail.flexza.net

let's do a quick tutorial :)
_________________________________________________
1) Install Roundcube in a folder on your server and be sure that it works. How to do this is in the manual of roundcube, not gonna explain it.

2) Backup /usr/share/psa-horde to /usr/share/psa-horde-BK

3) Make clean dir for /usr/share/psa-horde

4) Move all files from the folder on your server to /usr/share/psa-horde

5) Go to webmail.domain.com and it will work!
_________________________________________________

I did this with plesk 8.2.0 on a server runnin Suse Linux 9.3.

The only issue I've got is that the button called webmail in plesk won't work anymore...I just ticked the box off at the mail preferences ;)

Don't know if it's as simple as this on windows.
If you won't succeed just contact me @ flexza[at]flexza[dot]net