Author Topic: installation  (Read 5713 times)

Offline bert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
installation
« on: June 19, 2007, 10:26:40 AM »
hi,

just installing rc.
 
but at "Database Setup" i dont know what to do.
I've created my "db" and "user" but dont know how to execute "mysql.initial.sql".
i should enter some code in a command line but dont know which command line.
ive entered it in the sql-window on my website control but it wasnt the right syntax.

can anybody helb me?

thx for responses

Offline bert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: installation
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2007, 06:29:54 AM »
ok,

the manual says:
... Next we execute the SQL file found in the "/SQL/" directory in Roundcube that is named: "*.initial.sql" where * is your database backend type (mySQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite).

For example with mysql enter the following code on the command line:

mysql --user=(your_db_user_name) -p (your_db_name) < mysql.initial.sql



ive entered
mysql --user=(my_db_user_name) -p (my_db_name) < mysql.initial.sql
in the command window at my ftp-program filezilla with the folder "SQL" opened.
unfortunally it say:
wrong syntax, code 500

i modified it to
mysql -u my_db_user_name -p my_db_name < mysql.initial.sql
but it didnt work also


it seems, that no one has this problem, so can please anybody help me?


Offline Coah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: installation
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2007, 03:22:23 PM »
I have the same problem and can't figure it out either. I seem to have created valid database, but I have no idea what "with the settings we have chosen" or whatever it says in the instructions means.

Plus I am pretty sure I am running the command right but it keeps giving me errors. I am using PHPmyAdmin

Offline Florianer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: installation
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2007, 02:46:29 AM »
Hi,
this answer is allready given (from me anywhere), but nevertheless: If you have this db and get some syntax errors, it could be, that you have no rights to set a database like roundcube give the syntax. Have a look at the code:
Code: [Select]
-- Table structure for table `session`

CREATE TABLE `session` (
 `sess_id` varchar(40) NOT NULL,
 `created` datetime NOT NULL DEFAULT '0000-00-00 00:00:00',
 `changed` datetime NOT NULL DEFAULT '0000-00-00 00:00:00',
 `ip` varchar(15) NOT NULL,
 `vars` text NOT NULL,
 PRIMARY KEY(`sess_id`)
) TYPE=MYISAM CHARACTER SET ascii COLLATE ascii_general_ci;
If this is not your very own server, try to remove
Code: [Select]
TYPE=MYISAM CHARACTER SET ascii COLLATE ascii_general_ci. It is possible, that your hoster have set up a fix type, char set... and you have no permission to change that. By removing this line, the table will be created with your default setting and should work fine. Tell us, if not and with what kind of error message.
it\'s not a bug - it\'s a feature


Offline bert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: installation
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2007, 10:11:53 AM »
äh, thanks.

Ive fixed the problem by the time.
The problem was, that I didn't know, how to execute "mysql.initial.sql".
Importing it with PHPMyAdmin was the solution.

It was a dumb question, anyway.

The white window problem, starting RC, was fixed with deleting "htaccess"-files.