Author Topic: Login to webmail failed !!  (Read 7297 times)

Offline DWH

Login to webmail failed !!
« on: March 25, 2014, 07:36:41 PM »
My home server setup is running:
Ubuntu 13.10.2
Roundcube 0.9.2-2
Mysql 5.5.35-0
dovecot-postfix, 2.1.7-7 all mail server delivery agent stack provided by Ubuntu server team

My question is:
Why cant I log into webmail on my roundcube installation.
I have looked for answer's for this a long time, now I have to ask for help.
Yep, newbie here, so please be gentle.

I will provide any further information you may need to help me out, and your help will be greatly appreciated.
Which logs, and where to find them, do you need. ??
I made a picture with this post of the login error I get.
The error is in Danish and says "connection to email server failed" when I try to login.
DWH
« Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 04:20:52 AM by DWH »

Offline JohnDoh

• Global Moderator
Re: Login to webmail failed !!
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 02:23:25 PM »
whats in your Roundcube error log? are you sure that you have configured the default_host option in your config file correctly and that there are no firewall or php restrictions preventing your webserver from talking to your imap server?

by default Roundcube logs are in [roundcube root]/logs. you should see one called errors. if there isnt an "error" log in there then most likely you have not installed Roundcube correctly, you have not granted permission for the webserver user to write to the logs directory.
Roundcube Plugins: Contextmenu, SpamAssassin Prefs, and moreā€¦

Offline ABerglund

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 04:08:10 PM »
You might also try loging in using just the first part of your email address, not the entire address. Depending on how the server host is defined in the Roundcube config, the entire address may not be needed.
Arne Berglund
SysAdmin, Internet Services
Lane Education Service District
Eugene, OR, USA

Offline DWH

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2014, 04:59:59 PM »