Author Topic: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme  (Read 43345 times)

Offline youds

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« on: October 08, 2007, 11:33:30 AM »
Requirements:
 - Download the latest SVN package (http://trac.roundcube.net/trac.cgi/wiki/Dev_SVN)
 - OR alter RC2 release (as explained in thread - thanks!!)

If there are any known problems with the 3 column layout not mentioned here http://roundcubeforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=1924.0 or then I want to know about them..

Courtesy of http://www.youds.com see below for download.

Offline youds

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2007, 12:39:29 PM »
This theme is designed for those who want to use the 3 column layout and don't mind loosing the "Size" column in the email list (For the purpose of copying exactly how emails appear in Microsoft Outlook)

It allows for easy viewing of emails, replying, and so on and generally cleans up previous attempts.

You will need to include your own logo at this location:
/images/customise/logo.gif

Config requirements:
  • $rcmail_config['list_cols'] = array('subject', 'from', 'date');
  • $rcmail_config['preview_pane'] = TRUE;

Files can be downloaded here http://webmail.youds.com/trunk/roundcubemail/skins/default_3column.zip or see attached

Enjoy!

28/10/07 New icons for different mail types (new, read, replied) and fixes for email-list scrolling, user preferences, customised folders & attachment icon in IE7

30/10/07 Updated the window onload procedure to include a minimum width for the email list, based on the users browser size.

05/05/08 Minor updates. All download locations updated.

06/05/08 Minor updates.

« Last Edit: May 06, 2008, 03:48:51 AM by youds »

Offline youds

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2007, 12:42:08 PM »

How to enable preview pane in RC2...

Quote from: Gendhor
Ok, for enabling the preview pane I did the following:

1.) I connected to the database with phpMyAdmin.
2.) I selected the table "user".
3.) I edited the field "preferences" for the row carrying the desired user_id.

This field contains some sort of mapping. In this mapping you can read something like

"preview_pane";b:0

4.) I changed the value 0 to 1.

Done.




Screenshots






Offline hcl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2007, 08:50:09 PM »
Hi
im use squirrelmail on second webmail server with "Squirrelmail Outlook" i see ur design some with http://sourceforge.net/projects/squirreloutlook

great job
I'm use RoundCube with:
Linux 2.6.18-8.el5 (Centos 5)
QMAIL 1.03
MySQL 14.12 Distrib 5.0.22
Courier-IMAP-4.0.2
Apache/2.2.3
Clamav 0.91.2 with SIMCAN 1.3.1

Offline youds

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2007, 11:05:24 AM »
yep, just upgraded from it!

Offline rwilkins108

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2007, 11:12:01 AM »
Do you know if this works with RC2?

Thanks!
Ron

Offline youds

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2007, 11:17:49 AM »
Yep, it works with all versions from the introduction of "preview_pane", onwards

Offline youds

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2007, 11:27:29 AM »
Planned changes:
 - Import address book from Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express / Windows Mail / Thunderbird
 - Export to CSV format
 - Generally make it less like RoundCube and more like MS Outlook

Other suggestions welcomed..

Offline Shadow aok

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2007, 11:37:56 AM »
I ran into some display bugs with firefox (last version).
I'm sorry I can't make a screenshot right now (i'll be back in 10 days) but i have some overlays problems when :
- you have subfolders
- an email have an attached file (the attachment.png picture)

Thanks

Offline rwilkins108

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2007, 05:59:26 PM »
RC2 didn't enable preview pane (same as RC1). I've tried suggestions in other threads of how to get it working in RC2 with no luck.

Looks great tho, i'll leave it as my default skin :)

Offline micomputers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2007, 08:13:28 PM »
I've followed the steps in the first post but mine looks like this: http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/1043/rcdisplayproblemlm4.jpg :'(

Does anyone have any pointers?

EDIT: Just tried it in ie6 and it works perfectly :-[ - Now I wonder why it doesn't work in Firefox 2.0.0.8

Offline youds

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2007, 08:31:49 PM »
Have you pressed CTRL+F5?? It looks like you have a different theme loaded in from your cache.

It's been tested with default settings in IE 7 and FF 1.5 + 2 (yes with the last update) - thanks for the heads up about IE6 though!

Shall look into the sub-folders issue soon, perhaps tommorrow - certainly next week, there is one or two other things that need addressing as well.

Offline dave1978

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2007, 10:43:37 AM »
Looks good so far but one thing I've found is the email list dosent scroll so if you have more than a few emails in your inbox you cant see them all

Offline neo123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2007, 01:30:06 PM »
hi ,

is there a howto install step by step ??? i really want to use this theme and i am using centos 4.4 with putty and direct admin

thanks :)

Offline micomputers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
Re: MS Outlook 3 Column Theme
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2007, 06:34:31 PM »
What I did to install, was in the roundcube folder you'll have one called templates. In there theres a folder called templates.... Just rename or delete that one and call this template 'default' then you should be sweet!