Author Topic: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser  (Read 5590 times)

Offline happyuser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« on: August 06, 2014, 05:12:32 AM »
Hi all,

as my nick says, I am using roundcube happily and have been doing so for a few years now.
Yesterday, I wanted to enable a plugin (password to change cyrus sasl stuff) and needed to enable more verbose logging.

With the latest stable version 1.0.2, as much as I fiddled with $config['debug_level'] in config/config.inc.php, I could not
1) see any more info than one line "Successful login.." in logs/userlogins for each login
2) access / find / see that nice console in the webbrowser (Safari 7.0.5 or Firefox 30.0 on Mac OSX 10.9.4. I disabled all browser extensions in my many tries to see the console)

Can you please point me to somewhere I can RTFM or tell me what I could try?

Many thanks,

Peter


Code: [Select]
egrep "(debug|log[_'])" config/*php | egrep -v 'php:\s*//'
config/config.inc.php:$config['debug_level'] = 8;
config/config.inc.php:$config['log_logins'] = true;
config/config.inc.php:$config['log_dir'] = 'logs/';
config/config.inc.php:$config['plugins'] = array('managesieve', 'new_user_dialog', 'emoticons', 'password');
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['debug_level'] = 1;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['log_driver'] = 'file';
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['log_date_format'] = 'd-M-Y H:i:s O';
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['syslog_id'] = 'roundcube';
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['syslog_facility'] = LOG_USER;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['smtp_log'] = true;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['log_logins'] = false;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['log_session'] = false;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['sql_debug'] = false;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['imap_debug'] = false;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['ldap_debug'] = false;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['smtp_debug'] = false;
config/defaults.inc.php:$config['log_dir'] = RCUBE_INSTALL_PATH . 'logs/';
[code]


Offline happyuser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2015, 10:20:47 AM »
So .. any ideas, anyone?

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,879
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Re: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 04:25:58 PM »
Exactly what type of information are to trying to see?

Offline happyuser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 02:24:36 AM »
Hi,

last time I would have needed this, it was the password change plugin that I need to debug/troubleshoot.

Why do you ask? Is there not a way to globally enable debug logging and even have that error web console available?

Thanks,

Peter

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,879
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Re: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2015, 03:42:25 AM »
There is different systems within Roundcube so you need to enable logging in each individually because typically you don't need all of the different info at once.

Offline happyuser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2015, 03:51:45 AM »
So .. $config['debug_level'] does not actually work?
Is there a place to RTFM on the log mechanisms available?
Thanks,
Peter

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,879
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Re: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2015, 04:09:16 AM »
I don't think there is a great place to read more about the logging functions in Roundcube the best place is the read the configuration file (config.inc.php) to see all of the different logging options.
Code: [Select]
// ----------------------------------
// LOGGING/DEBUGGING
// ----------------------------------
// system error reporting, sum of: 1 = log; 4 = show
$config['debug_level'] = 1;
// log driver:  'syslog' or 'file'.
$config['log_driver'] = 'file';
// date format for log entries
// (read http://php.net/manual/en/function.date.php for all format characters) 
$config['log_date_format'] = 'd-M-Y H:i:s O';
// length of the session ID to prepend each log line with
// set to 0 to avoid session IDs being logged.
$config['log_session_id'] = 8;
// Syslog ident string to use, if using the 'syslog' log driver.
$config['syslog_id'] = 'roundcube';
// Syslog facility to use, if using the 'syslog' log driver.
// For possible values see installer or http://php.net/manual/en/function.openlog.php
$config['syslog_facility'] = LOG_USER;
// Activate this option if logs should be written to per-user directories.
// Data will only be logged if a directry <log_dir>/<username>/ exists and is writable.
$config['per_user_logging'] = false;
// Log sent messages to <log_dir>/sendmail or to syslog
$config['smtp_log'] = true;
// Log successful/failed logins to <log_dir>/userlogins or to syslog
$config['log_logins'] = false;
// Log session authentication errors to <log_dir>/session or to syslog
$config['log_session'] = false;
// Log SQL queries to <log_dir>/sql or to syslog
$config['sql_debug'] = false;
// Log IMAP conversation to <log_dir>/imap or to syslog
$config['imap_debug'] = false;
// Log LDAP conversation to <log_dir>/ldap or to syslog
$config['ldap_debug'] = false;
// Log SMTP conversation to <log_dir>/smtp or to syslog
$config['smtp_debug'] = false;

Offline happyuser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2015, 04:18:23 AM »
But that _is_ what I did, see my initial post. And that did not work.
This is the reason I am asking here.. :-)

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,879
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Re: Cannot make it log verbosely, cannot see console in browser
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2015, 05:13:24 AM »
It doesn't look like you enabled any of the log types other than smtp and logins so I'm not sure what data your trying to get.