Poll

Would you like this feature?

es
5 (50%)
o
0 (0%)
on\'t care!
1 (10%)
lready implemented
4 (40%)

Total Members Voted: 10

Author Topic: Friendly 'Server' name on logon screen  (Read 5270 times)

Offline mfallon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Friendly 'Server' name on logon screen
« on: August 05, 2008, 09:31:24 PM »
It would be good to be able to specify a friendly name which is displayed in the server field on the logon screen.

This would mean that you don't have to expose the name of the IMAP server.

// the mail host chosen to perform the log-in
// leave blank to show a textbox at login, give a list of hosts
// to display a pulldown menu or set one host as string.
// To use SSL connection, enter ssl://hostname:993
$rcmail_config['default_host'] = array (
  0 => 'domain1.com',
  1 => 'ssl://domain2.com',
  2 => 'domain3.com',
);

// Automatically add this domain to user names for login
// Only for IMAP servers that require full e-mail addresses for login
// Specify an array with 'host' => 'domain' values to support multiple hosts
$rcmail_config['username_domain'] = array (
  'mail.domain1.com' => 'domain1.com',
  'ssl://domain2.com' => 'domain2.com',
  'imap.domain3.com' => 'domain3.com'
);

This would potentially allow the logon screen to be changed so that you can show the username: {fill in field} @ {domain name drop down}.

Thanks, again not sure if this is the best place to put the request so apologies if it should be somewhere else.

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Friendly 'Server' name on logon screen
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 05:20:46 PM »
You can do that already.  I believe if you set the values of the "default_host" array to whatever you want, it will show instead of the mail server:
$rcmail_config['default_host'] = array(
    
'mail.domain.com' => 'domain1.com',
    
'ssl://mail.domain2.com' => 'domain2.com (SSL)',
    
'mail.domain3.com' => 'domain3.com',
);


EDIT: I had it backwards before.  You need to set the array key to the value of the server, and then the values to the display name you want.

You can see an example here.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2008, 05:36:11 PM by bpat1434 »
 
  

Offline Swannie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Specify IP at Login
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2008, 10:11:51 AM »
Hi There,
What file do I need to edit to do this. I only have one web server and I want to specify 41.204.197.22 in the login screen.


Swannie

Offline Julius Caesar

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 498
    • http://www.de-keizer.net/
Friendly 'Server' name on logon screen
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2008, 03:57:51 PM »
Quote from: Swannie;15167

What file do I need to edit to do this. I only have one web server and I want to specify 41.204.197.22 in the login screen.


The file /config/main.inc.php:

$rcmail_config['default_host'] = array(
                                  
'ssl://localhost:993' => 'Local SSL Mail'
                                  
'41.204.197.22'       => 'FourtyOne Mail'
                                 
);
Julius Caesar

You can download the Groupvice4 theme here.
Sie können Groupvice4 hier he

Offline JohnDoh

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,285
Friendly 'Server' name on logon screen
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2008, 03:30:53 AM »
if you only want to specify one static mail server address you can use:

Code: [Select]
$rcmail_config['default_host'] = '41.204.197.22';

this will remove the host box from the login screen alltogether.
Roundcube Plugins: Contextmenu, SpamAssassin Prefs, and more…

Offline Swannie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Friendly 'Server' name on logon screen
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2008, 03:38:54 AM »
Thank you very much!:D