Author Topic: Round Cube + Plesk Help  (Read 8460 times)

Offline eric06

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Round Cube + Plesk Help
« on: March 28, 2008, 06:14:03 PM »
I recently installed Round Cube on my Windows 2003 server which runs Plesk 8.3. I know Plesk does not support Round Cube but I am getting tired of only using what Plesk likes because I know there are better options.

I installed roundcube under a different folder to test it out. I then moved the round cube folder to the webmail folder under Plesk. All works well until I go to webmail.mydomain.com. I get database connection failed for Round Cube.

Do I need to reinstall round cube under the webmail folder? Is there a way I can just move the folder and have it work?

Thanks!
eLime Hosting Company | http://www.elimehostingcompany.com

Offline eric06

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2008, 07:54:01 PM »
Any ideas?
eLime Hosting Company | http://www.elimehostingcompany.com

Offline dm-o

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 05:48:26 AM »
Hi,

I am not sure if it`s same in plesk but i use it for my confixx and there i did following:

I installed roundcube in normal user directory (user web1) and added a subdomain webmail.blablablaa to this user

works perfekt ;-)

Offline eric06

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2008, 10:45:51 AM »
Quote from: dm-o
Hi,

I am not sure if it`s same in plesk but i use it for my confixx and there i did following:

I installed roundcube in normal user directory (user web1) and added a subdomain webmail.blablablaa to this user

works perfekt ;-)

That's where I run into problems with creating a webmail.domian.com. Plesk automatically creates webmail subdomains for domains and points to a specific webmail folder on the server. I have tried getting help at the Plesk forum but they will not help me since they don't support it.

I didn't know if any other users have tried to do what I am wanting to do.
eLime Hosting Company | http://www.elimehostingcompany.com

Offline DocNight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2008, 02:57:07 AM »
Hi eric06,

I am running the configuration you are talking about and everythings working fine.

You are talking about two different problems:
1. Roundcube is not running
2. Subdomain points to standard plesk webmailer (maybe Horde), not to Roundcube

solutions:
1. In standard windows configuration plesk is installed with the mailserver mailenable standard. This mailserver doesn't support imap and Roundcube only works with imap. I have disabled mailenable and installed the free version of hMailserver for windows. It gets fully integrated in plesk, imports all your mailaccounts and supports imap ;) For installationguide ask google ;)
2. You must save your RoundCube installation somewhere in the inetpubfolder. For example next to the Horde-Folder. Then go into InternetServiceManager and change the virtualWebsite-Directory to your Roundcube-Folder.

I hope this helps and sorry for my bad english ;)

greets,
DocNight

Offline eric06

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2008, 12:31:22 PM »
Quote from: DocNight
Hi eric06,

I am running the configuration you are talking about and everythings working fine.

You are talking about two different problems:
1. Roundcube is not running
2. Subdomain points to standard plesk webmailer (maybe Horde), not to Roundcube

solutions:
1. In standard windows configuration plesk is installed with the mailserver mailenable standard. This mailserver doesn't support imap and Roundcube only works with imap. I have disabled mailenable and installed the free version of hMailserver for windows. It gets fully integrated in plesk, imports all your mailaccounts and supports imap ;) For installationguide ask google ;)
2. You must save your RoundCube installation somewhere in the inetpubfolder. For example next to the Horde-Folder. Then go into InternetServiceManager and change the virtualWebsite-Directory to your Roundcube-Folder.

I hope this helps and sorry for my bad english ;)

greets,
DocNight

I got Round Cube installed in the Interpub/vhosts/webmail folder. All is good but when I try to log in I get:

CGI Timeout

The specified CGI application exceeded the allowed time for processing. The server has deleted the process.

This only seems to happen when users are logging into Round Cube for the first time. I have changed a few of the permissions on the folder but it's still giving the CGI error.

Any Ideas?
eLime Hosting Company | http://www.elimehostingcompany.com

Offline mromero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2008, 10:40:17 AM »
Well if you have root ssh access to your server I have found that this works:

EDIT: Didn't realize you were running a win server. It should still work though.

Quote from: FlexZa
I DID IT! :D
http://webmail.flexza.net

let's do a quick tutorial :)
_________________________________________________
1) Install Roundcube in a folder on your server and be sure that it works. How to do this is in the manual of roundcube, not gonna explain it.

2) Backup /usr/share/psa-horde to /usr/share/psa-horde-BK

3) Make clean dir for /usr/share/psa-horde

4) Move all files from the folder on your server to /usr/share/psa-horde

5) Go to webmail.domain.com and it will work!
_________________________________________________

I did this with plesk 8.2.0 on a server runnin Suse Linux 9.3.

The only issue I've got is that the button called webmail in plesk won't work anymore...I just ticked the box off at the mail preferences ;)

Don't know if it's as simple as this on windows.
If you won't succeed just contact me @ flexza[at]flexza[dot]net


Offline eric06

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2008, 03:45:46 PM »
Thanks mromero. I tried the steps and the issue is still there. I am curious to if Plesk 8.3 restricts anything else but the 4 programs it supports from working 100%.

eLime Hosting Company | http://www.elimehostingcompany.com

Offline mromero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2008, 06:58:42 PM »
That is strange it looks like it is an issue with MS Server. I have 8.3 installed on my server and it worked for me. The only difference is that mine is linux.

Offline eric06

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2008, 07:02:53 PM »
Quote from: mromero
That is strange it looks like it is an issue with MS Server. I have 8.3 installed on my server and it worked for me. The only difference is that mine is linux.

It wouldn't be the first time Microsoft has limited something. :) lol

I did try Round Cube just as a sub domain and it worked fine. I just copied the config files when I installed it under the webmail folder. Could that have caused problems?

Thanks for all your guys help. I will keep working on things and see if I can get the CGI error to go away.
eLime Hosting Company | http://www.elimehostingcompany.com

Offline Tomek15

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2008, 02:26:00 AM »
I have problem. Round Cube webmail wont work. this write:

DATABASE ERROR: CONNECTION FAILED!

Unable to connect to the database!
Please contact your server-administrator.


What i do?

Offline eric06

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2008, 01:59:53 PM »
Quote from: Tomek15
I have problem. Round Cube webmail wont work. this write:

DATABASE ERROR: CONNECTION FAILED!

Unable to connect to the database!
Please contact your server-administrator.


What i do?

Not sure what server you are on. I am running Win 03 and I had to make sure the database was on port 3006 for MySQL. Did you edit the database info in the config folder?
eLime Hosting Company | http://www.elimehostingcompany.com

Offline eric06

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Round Cube + Plesk Help
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2008, 10:19:59 AM »
I have my problem narrowed down to RoundCube is not redirecting correctly or something like that since the CGI error only shows to people who have never logged into RoundCube before. I have also upgraded to 0.1.1 and the problem is still there. I had my support check things out and they are baffled also.

Any more ideas on how to get rid of this CGI error so users can just log in?
eLime Hosting Company | http://www.elimehostingcompany.com