Author Topic: roundcube and http://freeldap.org/  (Read 8005 times)

Backi

  • Guest
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« on: May 07, 2008, 10:24:43 AM »
hi all,

i need help to get roundcube working with http://freeldap.org/

i tried to set up all in main.inc.php, but anyhow nothing is working

Freeldap.org:
"Need a centralized address book that doesn't require installing additional software? You've come to the right place! You can use the LDAP protocol thats built into almost all the mail clients and computers out there to store and access your contacts.

This website brings you this LDAP service, for free, for life. Use it from the browser, from a Mac, Windows, Unix and more. "

Offline Vicelow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2008, 03:59:21 AM »
I tried to make it work as well. No chance so far. I'm not really deep into that topic so for now I'm running out of ideas for the configuration.
I do not have any logged error messages but one: problem with instant access in rcube_ldap.inc on line 411. No idea what to do. Help anyone? I'd like to use LDAP to synchronize with my Mac OS X Address Book.
If LDAP is not the right way: any other idea to do that?

Thanks

Offline anilj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2008, 02:22:25 PM »
What settings are you using? It works fine for me, but it needs some special configuration.

Offline Vicelow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2008, 02:57:49 AM »
Well, meanwhile I got it working as well. But it does not show all my contacts, I can only search and especially autocomplete in the composing window does not work. A developer told me this is because of freeldap.org not supporting fuzzy search. Did you make that work?

Backi

  • Guest
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2008, 03:37:31 AM »
could you post here what you did to get it working?

Offline Vicelow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2008, 03:42:25 AM »
Of course:

  $rcmail_config['ldap_public']['freeldap'] = array(
   'name'          => 'freeldap',
   'hosts'         => array('ds1.us.freeldap.org'),
   'port'          => 389,
   'base_dn'       => 'o=entic.net',
   'bind_dn'       => 'uid=Vicelow, ou=People, o=entic.net',
   'bind_pass'     => 'mypassword',
   'ldap_version'  => 3,       // using LDAPv3
   'search_fields' => array('mail', 'cn'),  // fields to search in
   'name_field'    => 'cn',    // this field represents the contact's name
   'email_field'   => 'mail',  // this field represents the contact's e-mail
   'surname_field' => 'sn',    // this field represents the contact's last name
   'firstname_field' => 'gn',  // this field represents the contact's first name
   'scope'         => 'sub',   // search mode: sub|base|list
   'filter'        => '',      // used for basic listing (if not empty) and will be &'d with search queries. example: status=act
   'fuzzy_search'  => true);   // server allows wildcard search


Keep in mind that you need to search in order to see contacts in your address book and autocomplete when composing emails won't work...

Backi

  • Guest
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2008, 03:45:30 AM »
thanks, but if autocompletion isnt working, than its not interesting anymore.

btw.: what other clients do you sync with freeldap?

Offline Vicelow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2008, 03:51:25 AM »
Well I tried to do so with the Mac OS X Address Book, because I already was looking around for a syncing solution for a while. Roundcube's AB is still quite basic and I'd love to have it synchronized with my main AB but LDAP seems not the right way for that. I'm a bit idealess now...

Offline anilj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2008, 02:27:13 AM »
Set your base_dn to be the same as your bind_dn, and then see. That should work. Let me know if it doesn't, we can look at it.

Offline anilj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2008, 02:51:01 AM »
Looks like its a bug in round cube actually. Created a bug id for it: http://trac.roundcube.net/ticket/1485132

The reason it doesn't work when you have base dn of "o=entic.net" is because the search filter is getting evaluated to something like mail=*  instead of mail=*asdf*.

To get it working until this bug is fixed, you can set the base_dn to be the same as your bind_dn. This limits the wildcard search to just *your* entries, which won't be blocked by the LDAP server.

Hope this helps!

Offline Vicelow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2008, 09:05:40 AM »
I tried it with your hint, but it still does not work:

$rcmail_config['ldap_public']['freeldap'] = array(
'name' => 'freeldap',
'hosts' => array('ds1.us.freeldap.org'),
'port' => 389,
'base_dn' => 'uid=Vicelow, ou=People, o=entic.net',
'bind_dn' => 'uid=Vicelow, ou=People, o=entic.net',
'bind_pass' => 'mypassword',
'ldap_version' => 3, // using LDAPv3
'search_fields' => array('mail', 'cn'), // fields to search in
'name_field' => 'cn', // this field represents the contact's name
'email_field' => 'mail', // this field represents the contact's e-mail
'surname_field' => 'sn', // this field represents the contact's last name
'firstname_field' => 'gn', // this field represents the contact's first name
'scope' => 'sub', // search mode: sub|base|list
'filter' => '', // used for basic listing (if not empty) and will be &'d with search queries. example: status=act
'fuzzy_search' => true); // server allows wildcard search

Still it does not match any freelap entries though it finds them in the addressbook.
Any idea?

Offline anilj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2008, 11:26:06 AM »
Oh, one more thing, 'firstname_field' should be "givenName". Set your filter to be: objectClass=top, and then let me know if it works.  Private message me exactly what you are searching for and then I can have a look.

Offline Vicelow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2008, 04:18:10 PM »
It worked! Nice! It was two things: I used old preferences (just copied them on upgrade) and then your hint above. Perfect! If only ABxLDAP worked now, than its the perfect syncing service. Nice nice nice

Offline jslater

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2008, 09:47:12 AM »
Anybody help me with this, as I can't get it to work.  Cheers

Offline Vicelow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
roundcube and http://freeldap.org/
« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2008, 12:36:19 PM »
Without any information on what you did, you can't expect anybody to give you help.