Author Topic: Anyone help with a New Install on server  (Read 3533 times)

Offline lochnet

Anyone help with a New Install on server
« on: May 11, 2008, 10:54:08 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I have just started out as a mini isp leasing a dedicated server running Ubuntu Linux version 6 server.

I have had a very little experience with Linux but thought it would be the best option for mail and web hosting due to better security and reliability .

However I really need to install a decent web mail client and came across Roundcube but the problem is I do not have a clue where to start, and I know there are a few installation instructions out there but I cant seem to find anything that is for an absolute beginner.

Can anyone show me to a decent site where instructions are very very clear and step by step, or is there anyone out there that can install it for me, or for me to call on the phone and go through it over the phone.

Many thanks I hope that someone can help out as it's pretty important to get something installed asap for my new clients.

Kind Regards
Ryan

Offline gbainbridge

Installing Roundcube
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 07:48:20 AM »
I'm no expert, but having just installed it myself onto a disk server perhaps I can help.

The basic installation is simply to copy the whole unzipped directory into your web server. In my case I changed the directory name to 'webmail' rather than the original directory name.

You can then access the program by typing http://www.domainname.com/foldername where 'www.domainname.com' is the domain name of your server and 'foldername' is the name that you have given to the directory that you copied.

Of course it will not work yet as you have to set up the parameters.

With a text editor open the file main.include.php.dist within the config directory inside your webmail directory.

Change the relevant lines in the file e.g.

// the mail host chosen to perform the log-in
// leave blank to show a textbox at login, give a list of hosts