Poll

Do you think right click funtionality is a good idea?

es
181 (91.9%)
o
6 (3%)
aybe
10 (5.1%)
on\'t Care / Know
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 193

Author Topic: Right Click Functionality  (Read 71902 times)

Offline uberlemurguy

Right Click Functionality
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2009, 07:01:57 PM »
i honestly believe that using jQuery would simplify much of this complex javascript code in roundcube. There would be significantly less code, that is also easier to read. We could need things like: "return rcmail.folder_mouse_up('[Gmail]/All Mail')" on every folder link because we could bind classes with jQuery. jQuery has excellent AJAX methods and it works cross browser. There are hundreds of plugins easily enabling right-click functionality. Also skins could take advantage of jQuery, creating more dynamic and rich themes. I know all of my themes that I am going to make will include jQuery because of its advantages. If this has been discussed before, I am sorry because I am new to the forums (but not to RoundCube).

Offline JohnDoh

• Global Moderator
« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2009, 08:25:14 AM »
jQuery is being used in the trunk and will be in the next release i think, but there are some things that (at the moment) jQuery is slow at so it cant be used for everything. there is a little bit of discussion here RoundCube Mailing Lists

as for the right click stuff you are correct, that is why i waited until RC was jQueryfied before i did any thing.

i have been tinkering with RC for a long time now and IMO the JS is great and its really easy to understand once you get your head round the basic structure.
Roundcube Plugins: Contextmenu, SpamAssassin Prefs, and more…

Offline uberlemurguy

« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2009, 11:00:13 PM »
I have used jQuery for over a year, and I have never run into a case where jQuery's ajax methods are slower. There must have been some other varible involved as in not using proper jQuery techniques etc.