Author Topic: why isnt my quota showing on webmail?  (Read 5355 times)

Offline timreichhart

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« on: May 22, 2009, 12:01:40 AM »
Hi Guys
I wanted to know the reason why my quota is not showing up on the webmail and I was the one who setup the email server is there a setting I need to change?

also my system information is Ubuntu 9.04 with postfix+dovecot imap+mysql.

and how I installed was by doing this sudo apt-get install roundcube from command line.

Offline waster2009

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2009, 02:09:49 AM »
Dovecot should be configured with quota plugins and quota mechanism should work. Something like this (please check dovecot docs):

protocol imap {
  mail_plugins = quota imap_quota
}

If you use mysql to get/store quota then configure dovecot quota plugin accordingly.

Offline Asterix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2009, 04:34:49 AM »
And I think that your local delivery agent should also be quota enabled. I use the LDA of Dovecot instead of the postfix one and therefor the quota file (maildirsize) is written by the Dovecot LDA.

Offline timreichhart

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2009, 11:19:35 AM »
well my dovecot is setup for mysql so what would i need to put in for that?

alright I got the plugin in there but now when I login to webmail its showing disk:unlimited but in sql I set the quota @ 1024kb  is there something else I have to do?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2009, 11:46:51 AM by timreichhart »

Offline timreichhart

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2009, 04:03:51 PM »
also I am having problems with spam its not getting marked or moved to junk. so I need to find out why why the quota dont work and why spam is not moving to junk or getting marked as spam.

Offline timreichhart

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2009, 09:41:48 PM »
may I please get some help with this webmail problem thanks.

Offline rosali

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,533
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2009, 12:00:02 AM »
I'm quite sure it isn't a RoundCube Problem. When establishing IMAP connection RoundCube asks for QUOTA Capabilitity. If the IMAP server does not response to have quota extension, the quota image is not shown. Look here IMAP Server with QUOTA Extension capability - HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials.
Regards,
Rosali
__________________
MyRoundcube Project (commercial)

Offline timreichhart

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2009, 01:54:53 AM »
the quota is working but my problem is I get the quota from mysql so I need to know what plugin to use to get it from mysql.

Offline rosali

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,533
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2009, 12:54:50 AM »
AFAIK, it works only for quota by IMAP server. I'm not aware of a plugin for mysql.
Regards,
Rosali
__________________
MyRoundcube Project (commercial)

Offline timreichhart

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2009, 02:13:48 PM »
then it sounds like roundcube needs to be updated for this setup.

Offline corbosman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2009, 03:06:56 PM »
You can probably write a plugin to handle your situation.

Offline sysadm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2009, 02:11:46 AM »
that cools:)

Offline Martian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
why isnt my quota showing on webmail?
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2010, 10:37:08 AM »
Sorry for digging up and old thread perhaps this will help someone via search:

Dovecot pulls the quota information from the mysql tables and that data is then provided to the IMAP client via the IMAP QUOTA command.  There is no need for Roundcube to talk to the SQL server at all for this to happen.  So long as Dovecot is reports QUOTA support in it's header Roundcube will use it.

Martian