Author Topic: how to change login format  (Read 5474 times)

Offline faziatic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
how to change login format
« on: July 03, 2006, 06:06:25 AM »
Hello,
I'm using a fix mail server with roundcube (mail.domain.com) and I don't want to insert the whole email-address as username every time I log in. So I'd like to know if it is possible just to enter the username?
username
password

instead of
username@domain.com
password


Thanks in advance,

faziatic

Offline flosoft

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
    • http://flosoft.biz
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2006, 07:22:42 AM »
well depends on your mailserver. Maybe your mailserver supports logins with only the username.

Offline faziatic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2006, 07:30:13 AM »
In fact I have to use the whole address in my outlook-account but I thought it was possible to "hide" the @domain.com but send it anyway. I used Uebimiau in the past and there was this kind of option .....
So no chance to workaround somehow ? via php?

thx so far

Offline flosoft

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
    • http://flosoft.biz
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2006, 07:34:51 AM »
Atleast for SMTP you can use the %u and %p. Try to set them to:
%u@mydomain.com
%p@mydomain.com

Offline faziatic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2006, 08:02:39 AM »
Hello, thanks for the quick answer.
Unfortunately it doesn't change anything.
Looking for another solution I was trying to choose from a dropdown-box betweeen 2 domains.
I read these lines in another thread:

$rcmail_config['default_host'] = 'mail.1550.co.nz';
If you leave this blank, you will be able to specify your host via a textbox on the loginscreen.

$rcmail_config['mail_domain'] = '';
If you use no default_host you are able to create a dropdown box with several servers.

My lines look like this:

$rcmail_config['default_host'] = '';
$rcmail_config['default_port'] = 143;
$rcmail_config['mail_domain'] = array('mail.domain1.com'=> 'domain1.com', 'mail.domain2.com'=> 'domain2.com');

but all I see on the login-page are three fields, (username, password, mail-server). Shouldn't I get a dropdown-list with the 2 domains?

faziatic

Offline flosoft

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
    • http://flosoft.biz
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2006, 08:08:22 AM »
Well the other problem is, you don't need the mailserver, but the login.
The Mailserver setting is the mailserver. It doesn't have any influence on the login afaik :S

Offline faziatic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2006, 08:18:34 AM »
My main problem is that I don't want to type the whole address. So if I had the chance to either choose froma dropdown-box with 2 different domains or just to type in the username without domainname... it would be marvellous.
I'll try to find a workaround , always hoping that someone comes up with a solution :-\

Offline flosoft

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
    • http://flosoft.biz
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2006, 08:22:30 AM »
I know there was a patch for this on the old forum. Maybe someone will repost this.

Offline faziatic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2006, 08:33:01 AM »
That would be awesome ;D
Summa summarum, Roundcube is amazing... really like it :)

Offline redrose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2006, 08:21:01 AM »
Hello,

If anybody want to login via username only without @domain.com, he can do the following:

Edit the file: program/include/main.inc

Inside the function rcmail_login($user, $pass, $host=NULL), after the :

global $CONFIG, $IMAP, $DB, $sess_user_lang;
$user_id = NULL;

add these lines:

$headers = apache_request_headers();
foreach ($headers as $header => $value) {
 if($header=='Host'){
  $str=explode(".",$value,2);
  $user.='@'.$str[1];
  }
}

Then we can login using username only, there is no need to provide the full email address.

Good Luck for every body. :)

Offline sleezstak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: how to change login format
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2006, 12:29:09 AM »
I tried that and it let me log in but returned a blank page. :'(