Author Topic: I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS  (Read 22952 times)

Offline toxygen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
If you are getting a blank page instead of what would you expect to be login page, chech you mysql database.
This includes:

1) Whether you ran included sql scripts (SQL/ directory)
2) Check whether there exist tables in sql
3) check whether you have php installed in you webserver

if unsure of how to set up mysql, follow the howto:

mysql:

Code: [Select]
darken:~# mysql -u root -p
Enter password:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 1110 to server version: 4.0.24_Debian-10sarge2-log

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.

mysql> create database roundcubemail;
mysql> grant all on roundcubemail.* to roundcube@localhost identified by 'mypassword';
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.04 sec)

mysql> use roundcubemail;
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A

Database changed
mysql> \. mysql.initial.sql
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.04 sec)

Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.01 sec)

Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.01 sec)

Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.01 sec)

Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.01 sec)

Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.02 sec)

mysql>
Bye


in shell write "mysql -u roundcube -p" (or whatever user you entered during installation)
then write password (if rejected, it means, the user cannot connect to database)
if you get mysql shell write "show databases;"

you should get something like this

Code: [Select]
mysql> show databases;
+---------------+
| Database   |
+---------------+
| roundcubemail |
+---------------+
1 row in set (0.26 sec)

mysql> use roundcubemail;
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A

Database changed
mysql> show tables;
+-------------------------+
| Tables_in_roundcubemail |
+-------------------------+
| cache         |
| contacts        |
| identities       |
| messages        |
| session        |
| users         |
+-------------------------+
6 rows in set (0.00 sec)

mysql>


if you get this then everything is ok and you need to check whether you entered the correct user/pass into db.inc.php.

postgres:
(my installation dir was /home/www/mail)
Code: [Select]
darken:~# su - postgres
postgres@darken:~$ cd /home/www/mail/SQL
postgres@darken:~$ createuser -A -D -P roundcube
Enter password for new user:
Enter it again:
CREATE USER
postgres@darken:~$
postgres@darken:~$ createdb -O roundcube roundcubemail
CREATE DATABASE
postgres@darken:~$
postgres@darken:~$ psql -U roundcube --password -d roundcubemail
Password:
Welcome to psql 7.4.7, the PostgreSQL interactive terminal.

Type: \copyright for distribution terms
   \h for help with SQL commands
   \? for help on internal slash commands
   \g or terminate with semicolon to execute query
   \q to quit

roundcubemail=> \i postgres.initial.sql
CREATE SEQUENCE
psql:postgres.initial.sql:26: NOTICE: CREATE TABLE / PRIMARY KEY will create implicit index "users_pkey" for table "users"
CREATE TABLE
psql:postgres.initial.sql:41: NOTICE: CREATE TABLE / PRIMARY KEY will create implicit index "session_pkey" for table "session"
CREATE TABLE
CREATE SEQUENCE
psql:postgres.initial.sql:74: NOTICE: CREATE TABLE / PRIMARY KEY will create implicit index "identities_pkey" for table "identities"
CREATE TABLE
CREATE SEQUENCE
psql:postgres.initial.sql:105: NOTICE: CREATE TABLE / PRIMARY KEY will create implicit index "contacts_pkey" for table "contacts"
CREATE TABLE
CREATE SEQUENCE
psql:postgres.initial.sql:132: NOTICE: CREATE TABLE / PRIMARY KEY will create implicit index "cache_pkey" for table "cache"
CREATE TABLE
CREATE SEQUENCE
psql:postgres.initial.sql:168: NOTICE: CREATE TABLE / PRIMARY KEY will create implicit index "messages_pkey" for table "messages"
CREATE TABLE
psql:postgres.initial.sql:170: NOTICE: ALTER TABLE / ADD UNIQUE will create implicit index "messages_cache_key_key" for table "messages"
ALTER TABLE
roundcubemail=# \q
postgres@darken:/home/www/mail/SQL$

now try to refresh your login page.
if still blank, check file "errors" in logs/ directory.

example of error message:
Code: [Select]
[22-Oct-2006 01:08:19 +0200] DB Error: DB Error: no such database in /home/www/mail/roundcubemail/program/include/rcube_db.inc on line 105
don't forget to check db.inc.php

check PHP

make a file, e.g. test.php:

Code: [Select]
phpinfo();
?>

if you see nice table table it means you have php installed, if you see just the content of the file, you don't have working php.
A right is not what someone gives you; it's what no one can take from you.
                -- Ramsey Clark

Offline flosoft

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
    • http://flosoft.biz
Re: I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2006, 03:23:02 PM »
Made this topic sticky.

Thanks for the howto.

Offline CrazyF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2007, 12:02:21 PM »
I get a blank screen after I make login... how can I fix it?
Yesterday it was working fine and today when I go to see the mail, after login I get the blank screen always.
Thks in advance.

Offline dc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2007, 10:22:14 PM »
i dont have any command line in my hosting .. .will i be able to install this script ? its installed with mysql and php. i think im havin problem wrighting the loction of my msql account here. in my hosting at servage.net they dont give it the way you have Exampled in the config file. they give a different server to every different database. and connects to the database using the server they give with the user name and password. wat should i do ? i have tried a hell lot of webbased scripts . pls help

Offline KettererE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2007, 12:46:20 AM »
I've got the BLANK PAGE issue and tried everything I can find with no luck. I'm running Win2003 server with IIS6. PHP is version 5.2.1 and MySQL is version 4.1.18 which came with my HMailServer 4.3.1 install.

I have SQLyog and verifed the roundcubemail database is there with all 6 tables. The roundcube user is there with all permissions set. I tried both the mysql.initial.sql and mysql5.initial.sql db scripts.

PHP is working fine...I tested with a test.php file in the roundcube web folder...the test.php contains:

 // testing sessions
 // check to see if files are being created
 // in the session.save_path folder
 session_start();
?>

 
  PHP Test
 
 
 


   The browser you're using is
   
 


 


   
   Your browser's capabilities are:

   


   
   

 


 
 


It works fine and returns tons of info.

All IIS/Windows permissons are set...I have even tried FULL CONTROL for both my IIS guest users and asp.net app pool user.

I get no errors on the screen on in the logs folder.

My database name is roundcubemail, the user is roundcube, password is temppass, and MySQL is running on localhost on port 3307. Here's my database string in db.inc.php:

$rcmail_config['db_dsnw'] = 'mysql://roundcube:temppass@localhost:3307/roundcubemail';

I also tried:

$rcmail_config['db_dsnw'] = 'mysql://roundcube:temppass@localhost/roundcubemail';

Default MySQL port is defined as 3307 in PHP.ini.

Please help!!!

- Ed
Win2003 Server, IIS6, hMailServer 4.3.1, RoundCube 0.1 BETA 2

Offline KettererE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2007, 01:35:34 PM »
Hours of frustration with the install...had the blank screen/page no matter what I tried.

It was one simple problem...I needed to use slashes (/) not backslashes (\) in my temp folder path.

What took so long is that there was no error logging because it was failing in the parsing of the main.inc.php file right before it read the log file location setting!

To make it worse, I bumped up the debug level to 4 like is suggested but it still does not show errors on the screen, only in the log file but it never gets that far!

The key is to set:

$rcmail_config['debug_level'] = 8;

Then you see the errors on the screen! Found the issues and fixed my problem in less than 15 minutes.
Win2003 Server, IIS6, hMailServer 4.3.1, RoundCube 0.1 BETA 2

Offline paia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2007, 07:07:52 AM »
Quote from: CrazyF
I get a blank screen after I make login... how can I fix it?
Yesterday it was working fine and today when I go to see the mail, after login I get the blank screen always.
Thks in advance.

I have the same problem, I'm using also Squirrel Mail, that works, but have some limitations. detailed information about the problem:

1/ I put correct login values and press Login
2/ after really long time, blank page appears
3/ when I click in address bar (Firefox) and hit Enter on my keyboard to refresh the site, message list opens and almost everything works fine except the bug with Personal Settings -> Folders (opened ticket).

dutomate

  • Guest
I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2009, 11:38:59 AM »
Life is too short to be serious, laugh it up.

gidanrage

  • Guest
I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2009, 03:34:02 PM »
ya it will be great if they both get active on this forum...and share their exp. with gaming...

irkussqui

  • Guest
I got blank page instead of login - WALKTHROUGH HOW TO SOLVE THIS
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2009, 10:18:18 PM »
Here is, in my opinion, the most interesting part:
PHP Code:

//If first time key in date run statement
                if(first == 0){
                    ++first;//Track if is the first record key in
                    items = new Item(itemNumber, itemDesc, sellPrice, quantity);
                }
                //Else continue key in record
                else{
                    entries = items[0].getEntries();//Get number of entries entered
                    for(j=0; j
                        duplicate = items[j].equals(itemNumber, itemDesc, sellPrice, quantity);//Check for duplication of entries

                        if(duplicate == true) {
                            Print.duplicateError();
                            --i;
                            --looping;
                            break;
                        }
                    }
                    if(duplicate == false)//else save record
                        items[entries] = new Item(itemNumber, itemDesc, sellPrice, quantity);
                }