Author Topic: password plugin help urgent !!  (Read 2445 times)

Offline rajeshjsl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
password plugin help urgent !!
« on: February 25, 2011, 01:27:39 PM »
i am a newbie , have installed and activated roundcube , activate the password change plugin ..

but when i try to change the password it says could not save password ,,
what can be the reason ??

i am using sql driver method ..

please help

tried cpanel method also , didn't work .

what to use for the password query field ??

me using

Code: [Select]
$rcmail_config['password_query'] = 'SELECT update_passwd(%c, %u)';

also in my database i dont find any password field only users and other fields ,
so how is it gonna work ??
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 01:56:49 PM by rajeshjsl »

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
    • http://SKaero.com/
password plugin help urgent !!
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 03:30:41 PM »
If your host has cPanel then you'd need to use the cPanel driver. You can only use the SQL driver if you have directed access to the mail server database.

Offline rajeshjsl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
password plugin help urgent !!
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 02:43:07 AM »
Quote from: skaero;33494
If your host has cPanel then you'd need to use the cPanel driver. You can only use the SQL driver if you have directed access to the mail server database.


how do i direct access to mail server database ??

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
    • http://SKaero.com/
password plugin help urgent !!
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2011, 06:59:03 AM »
I'm going to guess that if you don't know how to access the mail server database you don't have access to it. Like I said before if your server has cPanel you need to use the cPanel driver.

Offline rajeshjsl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
password plugin help urgent !!
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2011, 03:11:11 PM »
Quote from: skaero;33507
I'm going to guess that if you don't know how to access the mail server database you don't have access to it. Like I said before if your server has cPanel you need to use the cPanel driver.


tried the cpanel driver

its saying could not save password

does my roundcube database has anything to do with it ??

Offline ABerglund

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
password plugin help urgent !!
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2011, 03:56:18 PM »
Quote from: rajeshjsl;33511
does my roundcube database has anything to do with it ??
No. Passwords are not stored in Roundcube, merely passed on to the mail host. The password plugin is intended to communicate with the password change routines on the mailhost.
Arne Berglund
SysAdmin, Internet Services
Lane Education Service District
Eugene, OR, USA

Offline rajeshjsl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
password plugin help urgent !!
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 04:39:15 AM »
Quote from: ABerglund;33513
No. Passwords are not stored in Roundcube, merely passed on to the mail host. The password plugin is intended to communicate with the password change routines on the mailhost.


me using cpanel driver , the settings are correct , usename,pass host , x3 theme , etc

then why its showing "could not save password" ??

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,543
    • http://SKaero.com/
password plugin help urgent !!
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2011, 03:13:18 PM »