Author Topic: Should I enable caching?  (Read 3534 times)

Offline jeupsy1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Should I enable caching?
« on: November 23, 2006, 05:04:34 AM »
The installation guide advises not to activate caching. I would like to know if this is still valid for the last release and if some people are using it with success.

Also, will it bring speed improvements if the imap server is not the same machine as the web server, but is on the same LAN? So basically the network is not an issue, but the IMAP server can be slow for accounts that use 100MB of space or more (it shows when accessing e-mails with Thunderbird). Especially, it would be graet if a search among all the messages could be performed very quickly, would caching be usefull for this?

Thanks in advance for you answers.

Offline bpat1434

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Should I enable caching?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2006, 10:05:47 PM »
Caching would speed your searches up; however, it would download all the emails you open, and the headers of those you have in your viewed folders.

As far as I know, caching still has a few flaws (like the mailbox list count not updating) but works. It will initially slow down your RC experience; however, overall it will be faster, if you're dealing with only a couple accounts. More than that, and you're risking a overflowing your DB with emails.

So it depends on what you want. Typically, it's just easier to leave caching off. If you have problems with an IMAP connection, turn caching on and you won't see too much of an issue as you'll still read mail, it's just it won't be live, it would be cached.
 
  

Offline jeupsy1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Should I enable caching?
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2006, 09:27:31 AM »
Thank you for your answer. Indeed, flooding the database with all the e-mails sounds like an important drawback (But unless the attached files are cached as well, which I don't think would be a good idea, I guess it is not too bad if you don't have too many accounts). I just have a few accounts so I will probably give it a try and see what happens, I guess I can't break anything appart from roundcube anyway, and it is really esay to reinstall ...