Author Topic: Password Plugin  (Read 8690 times)

Offline antkat309

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Password Plugin
« on: January 21, 2012, 12:37:31 PM »
I'm so sorry, but I've spent the last three days reading ALL of the posts regarding the password plugin. I think Google HATES me, so I attacked bing.  I see people with my same problem, but the solution is not clear because some of them just posted, it works now.  While I'm happy for them, I don't know what they did to get it to work.

I've even called bluehost, and they said they didn't find any error messages. The guy spent 30 minutes trying to help me, and I know they don't help with third-party applications.

I have enabled the plugin and I see the Password tab.  When I try to change the password, it says "Could not save new password," and it doesn't save it.

I did the qmailadmin plugin and the links came up on the side.  The error message was Service not available.  

Forget qmail.  I just want the password to work.

config.inc.php.dist (settings)
// Password Plugin options
// -----------------------
// A driver to use for password change. Default: "sql".
// See README file for list of supported driver names.
$rcmail_config['password_driver'] = 'cpanel';  I changed this because I'm using cpanel.


$rcmail_config['password_query'] = 'UPDATE mail_user SET password = %c WHERE email = %u';   I changed this to this.  It was SELECT update_passwd(%c, %u)

// cPanel Driver options
// --------------------------
// The cPanel Host name
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_host'] = 'domain.com';  I have tried a lot of stuff here.  My email is housed on a subdomain.  email.mydomain.com/I've even put mydomain.com where my domain is my actual domain name.

// The cPanel admin username
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_username'] = 'username';  substituted my info here
// The cPanel admin password
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_password'] = 'password'; substituted my info here

// The cPanel port to use
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_port'] = 2083;  changed to 2095 and 2096 didn't know which so tried both

// Using ssl for cPanel connections?
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_ssl'] = false;

// The cPanel theme in use
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_theme'] = 'bluehost';

Ok.  So I don't know what else to do.

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,879
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Password Plugin
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 11:46:03 PM »
In /plugins/password/config.inc.php
Set password_driver to cpanel:

Code: [Select]
$rcmail_config['password_driver'] = 'cpanel';

Then set the cPanel settings:
Code: [Select]
// The cPanel Host name
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_host'] = 'host.domain.com';

// The cPanel admin username
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_username'] = 'username';

// The cPanel admin password
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_password'] = 'password';

// The cPanel port to use
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_port'] = 2082;

// Using ssl for cPanel connections?
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_ssl'] = true;

// The cPanel theme in use
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_theme'] = 'x';

To find the appropriate settings login to cPanel and when on the main page look at the url, it should look something like:
Code: [Select]
http://example.com:2082/frontend/x3/index.html
This is the data needed:
Code: [Select]
http://[B]Host[/B]:[B]Port[/B]/frontend/[B]Theme[/B]/index.html

This is what it should look like in the config file:
Code: [Select]
$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_host'] = '[B]Host[/B]';

$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_username'] = 'Your CPanel username';

$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_password'] = 'Your Cpanel password';

$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_port'] = [B]Port[/B];

$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_ssl'] = true;

$rcmail_config['password_cpanel_theme'] = '[B]Theme[/B]';

Offline antkat309

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Password Plugin
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2012, 05:31:28 PM »
Surely there is something else.  I've done that.  Didn't work.

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,879
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Password Plugin
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2012, 11:21:47 PM »
I'd bet that password_cpanel_host is incorrect, I remember when I was working with a client with a bluehost account that they had an odd way handeling cPanel logins. Without access to the hostblue account I can't really help, if you send me the account details login I'll find the correct details if you don't want to I fully understand.