Author Topic: Address format and multiple addresses in Reply-To and Bcc  (Read 5881 times)

Offline myfreexp

Address format and multiple addresses in Reply-To and Bcc
« on: March 11, 2012, 07:25:18 AM »
Hello Folks,

I'm new to RC and this forum. On our server, we're currently about to switch from Squirrel to RC and apparently have issues with the Reply-To and Bcc fields in the Identity settings:

• If the user enters an address in the format "Real Name <local.part@do.main>" (without the quote signs, of course), RC is complaining about an invalid address (although the address is perfectly valid).
  • If multiple addresses are entered, separated with commas, RC is also complaining about an invalid address.
As a preliminary workaround, we could probably disable the validity test entirely. But where would we have to look at?

And has this been addressed in later versions of RC?

Any comments appreciated.

Regards, Michael
« Last Edit: April 05, 2012, 05:17:18 PM by SKaero »

Offline myfreexp

« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 03:21:18 PM »
Quote from: myfreexp;38381
  • If the user enters an address in the format "Real Name <local.part@do.main>" (without the quote signs, of course), RC is complaining about an invalid address (although the address is perfectly valid).

In the meantime I have managed to disable the validity check for Reply-to and Bcc in save_identity.inc. Now RC is not complaining about this valid format anymore and I can save the identity. But when I look into the settings again, I can see that RC removed the address in "<>" and just saved the real name.

I'm a former Turbo Pascal programmer, but my PHP skills are pretty poor. I wasn't able to find the function which does this string manipulation and apparently do not understand the logic. Can anybody help?

Quote from: myfreexp;38381
  • If multiple addresses are entered, separated with commas, RC is also complaining about an invalid address.