Roundcube Community Forum

Release Support => Pending Issues => Topic started by: zlp on February 07, 2012, 01:10:25 PM

Title: Upgrade problem (installto.sh) - Not on the "shell" (php-cli)
Post by: zlp on February 07, 2012, 01:10:25 PM
I'm a longtime roundcube user who usually upgrades manually. Now I'm trying the script method:

I'm on bluehost shared hosting with SSH enabled. I logged into my account and followed the directions in the UPGRADING document, but installto.sh doesn't run. It throws this error:
   Not on the "shell" (php-cli).[my username]@[mydomain.com]
(bracketed stuff is edited for privacy)
I've checked permissions on the script (755) and successfully ran a test script that just reports phpinfo. What am I doing wrong?
Title: Upgrade problem (installto.sh) - Not on the "shell" (php-cli)
Post by: SKaero on February 07, 2012, 04:36:43 PM
Run a php file with the following code from the shell:
Code: [Select]
<?php
echo php_sapi_name();
?>

Title: Upgrade problem (installto.sh) - Not on the "shell" (php-cli)
Post by: zlp on February 07, 2012, 07:11:45 PM
Thanks for the quick reply! The result of "php_sapi_name()" is "cgi-fcgi".
This seems odd to my noobie mind because fast cgi is not selected in CPanel. (It's set to "PHP5 with a single php.ini file in public_html".)
The plot thickens?
Title: Upgrade problem (installto.sh) - Not on the "shell" (php-cli)
Post by: SKaero on February 08, 2012, 04:24:19 AM
Very odd that should output "cli" when running the script over ssh, if your sure your running in the shell I'd try removing the:
Code: [Select]
if (php_sapi_name() != 'cli') {
  die('Not on the &quot;shell&quot; (php-cli).');
}
check at the top of /program/include/clisetup.php and see if that works.
Title: Upgrade problem (installto.sh) - Not on the "shell" (php-cli)
Post by: zlp on February 09, 2012, 01:03:46 AM
Thanks for your help. I'll try disabling the check tomorrow. I also started a ticket at bluehost to ask why php over ssh is running in fast cgi instead of cli. More later.
Title: Upgrade problem (installto.sh) - Not on the "shell" (php-cli)
Post by: zlp on February 10, 2012, 12:29:23 AM
After disabling the CLI check, the script starts but it exits immediately after printing this:
Upgrading from 0.7. Do you want to continue? (y/N)
Update cancelled. See ya!


Also, Bluehost responded: "We do not run mod_php as an Apache module for php.  We do actually run PHP as CGI/FCGI as can be seen here:
phpinfo() (http://www.zachpoff.com/info.php) "

Any thoughts or should I got back to manual upgrade?
Title: Upgrade problem (installto.sh) - Not on the "shell" (php-cli)
Post by: SKaero on February 10, 2012, 04:03:44 AM
I'm going to guess that it just isn't going to work the way the server is setup so the manual upgrade is probably the best way forward.