Author Topic: php.ini timezone  (Read 7546 times)

Offline cbrace

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
php.ini timezone
« on: August 14, 2012, 02:10:23 AM »
Hi all,

Since updating to 0.8, I am getting the timezone error messages again:

Code: [Select]
Warning: date_default_timezone_get() [function.date-default-timezone-get]: It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected 'Europe/Berlin' for 'CEST/2.0/DST' instead in /usr/local/www/roundcube/program/include/rcube_config.php on line 404
Years ago I added "date.timezone = Europe/Amsterdam" to php.ini, but that no longer appears to be sufficient. How do I fix this?

TIA

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,882
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Re: php.ini timezone
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 02:20:32 AM »
It should be:
Code: [Select]
date.timezone = "Europe/Amsterdam"
Also make sure you restart the web sever.

Offline cbrace

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
Re: php.ini timezone
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 02:46:16 AM »
Still doesn't fix it. even after restarting lighttpd. On the one hand, I can live with the error message, on the other dates are now broken, as I mentioned in another post. Could this be related?
« Last Edit: August 15, 2012, 02:58:44 AM by cbrace »

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,882
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Re: php.ini timezone
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2012, 03:31:04 AM »
Since your using lighttpd are you running php-fpm?

Offline cbrace

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
Re: php.ini timezone
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2012, 05:45:01 AM »
I am not sure what php-fpm is (I don't see any such package in the FreeBSD port tree). I have configured php as fastcgi under lighttpd, the standard way I thought.

Offline SKaero

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,882
    • SKaero - Custom Roundcube development
Re: php.ini timezone
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2012, 08:06:17 PM »
So you're using FastCGI? There is most likely a separate service that need to be restarted for the change to take effect.

Offline cbrace

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
Re: php.ini timezone SOLVED
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2012, 02:39:16 AM »
As far as I can tell, all PHP-CGI processes are restarted when lighttd is restarted, but perhaps there is something else I don't know. In any case, I rebooted the server and dates are now being displayed.

« Last Edit: August 20, 2012, 02:44:46 AM by cbrace »