Author Topic: remote imap host  (Read 5735 times)

Offline alvo

remote imap host
« on: May 09, 2009, 04:23:56 PM »
Hi,

First of all I am very new to all this so please forgive me if my question doesn't make sense. I hope it is not the case though...

Recently I opened a hosting account and I'd like to use RoundCube to access both my local emails and emails from other (external/remote) accounts such as gmail (I'm planning to use MyRoundCube's plugins for this).

My hosting company said that there shouldn't be any problems since they do not block any standard IMAP ports in their shared IP plans.

To start with I set up Fetch Mail of Horde to fetch emails from gmail and it seems to be working. Even though it doesn't seem to sync the folders, simply gets a copy of the emails.

Then I installed RoundCube using SimpleScript and tried to following setup:

$rcmail_config['default_host'] = 'ssl://imap.gmail.com:993';

$rcmail_config['default_port'] = '';

This is not really what I want since I'd like to access my local mails as well but I've thought that it would be a good test to see if I can access gmail's server from my RoundCube installation.

These are the error message from the log file:

[08-May-2009 16:32:55] PHP Warning:  fsockopen() [function.fsockopen]: unable to connect to ssl://imap.gmail.com:993 (Connection timed out) in /home/xxxxx/public_html/rc/program/lib/imap.inc on line 611
[08-May-2009 16:32:55 -0600] IMAP Error: Could not connect to ssl://imap.gmail.com at port 993: Connection timed out (POST /rc/?_task=&_action=login)

First of all I'd like to know if my RoundCube configuration makes any sense and if it is supposed to work?

I'd also like to know how to find out if my settings are wrong or it is my hosting company that is limiting the use of ports after all.
Is there a simple test to check this?
Does the fact that Horde is fetching emails from gmail prove that my hosting company doesn't limit the use of ports?